memories of hospitals poems 1-3

 Storm

Oh my God my heart is slamming

Off the walls in squishy thuds,

Oh my God my mouth is jamming

All my words are wordy muds –

Muds? Muddles!

I’m befuddled!

Watch my lips all slobberdrool!

My big black lungs are outerspace!

THYROID STORM!

Sounds

So

cool!

…………..

 

Remembrance Day Poppy 

It stands for

Soldiers

In the soil,

Sleeping there,

Full of holes.

 It was currency around the ward,

Slashing up our weekend goals.

 Red all red,

Little wars,

Little pins,

Behind the doors.

 ……..

Week 2, Roehampton 

I tried to pull out my teeth.

Ghosts sat on my

Ribs

And seethed.

I was dying.

I was seventeen.

I was hooked up to a magazine,

where skeletons wrote

All the news.

I was

D A Z E D  and

 I

was

C O N F U S E D.

Glossy boys showed off tattoos.

I tore them up with determination.

A seroquel-doped

Annihilation,

A precise

Paper

Decapitation.

Leave a Reply

